Gracie

I like to mix things up at work when I can.

We were roofing a house the summer of 2008.  It was the year I got Winston the pig.  She was still a little piglet.  The second day on the job, I brought Winston to work with me.  The family I was working for had a young girl named Gracie.

Gracie asked at the end of the day if Winston could stay overnight and have a sleep over with her and her little dogs.

Why not? Right 😉

 

The local small town newspaper got wind of this sleepover.

( I called them)

Editor came up later in the day to do a short story and take an action photo.

While I was shingling that day, I had this urge to hear the story of Charlotte’s Web….I asked if Gracie  would mind reading it out loud to me while I worked.  Their roof was only one story, with a shallow pitch, and I thought, most kids would love to be able to climb up on the roof of their home, as long as it was safe….and Gracie was more that willing.

I can still remember Gracie sitting there reading to me…seems like it was just a few years ago.

This afternoon, I am attending a Gracie’s high school graduation reception

It touched me that I was invited….

Wouldn’t miss it for the world.

In case you’ve never see it, here’s a picture of Winston, shortly before I had to tell her goodby:

Now that was some pig.

14 thoughts on “Gracie

    • Thanks Jen! Your daughter is so fortunate to be able to grow up around animals as well. It can build so many things into their lives… Work ethic, responsibility, the joy of cuddling a large animal, self confidence in being able to handle something, several times their size, etc

      Liked by 1 person

    • When I went to Gracie’s graduation reception this afternoon, I asked her what her plans are after high school…she told me she plans to purse Veterinary medicine… so her love for animals was alive and well way back in elementary school…back when Winston spent the night 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

