Another Love Story

Last week I wrote a short ditty on how I (DM)  met my wife.  I asked one of my regular readers  (Paul) about how he and his significant other met….  I had a hunch they had an interesting story, and I was not mistaken.

This is Paul’s story….

______________________________

Another Love Story.

Here’s my story….
Marriage down the pan and I’m kinda holding it together BUT have you ever noticed how going for a drink, a meal, to the cinema, or just out for a walk along the beach on your own, people look at you funny.

Table for one? Sorry full up.
They aren’t but I wasn’t exactly the nice looking, respectable, rich guy.

Go into a pub, and the stares during the 39 steps between the door and the bar stool sort of got to me.
Eventually to the extent of looking round at the inquisitive faces and saying “What, private club is it!?!”

So, fed up of being single, i.e. alone, I put an advert a paper for someone (female) to join me in going out, food, drink, movies.
Just a friend, that’s all, AND I MEANT IT TOO.
Why female? Dinner for two used to be accepted as normal if it was a heterosexual couple.

Anyway, the advert. A couple of ladies answered.
Err the short list was extremely short i.e. one of them in fact and that didn’t really go anywhere because they wanted “companionship”, I just wanted a friend.

Resubmitting the advert was me on the edge of packing everything I owned into the trunk of the car and go traveling.
I had some vague idea of round the world using my skill-base to make money.
How daft was that? My skill base was what had screwed me up but hey, you work with the tools you’ve got don’t you.
Way I saw it was me probably ending up in a ditch somewhere.
Quite frankly I didn’t give a damn which ditch either as long as it wasn’t in the UK.

Then the second post arrived.
One in particular made me smile.
SWMBO (to be).
She kinda made me laugh and that stopped me dead.
A sense of humor? Wow.

So, one ‘nervous’ phone call later we met.

As above SWMBO will explain what happened (sort of).

For some reason this girl got right under my skin, past the firewalls, into my head.
No slushy bit, well the occasional holding hands. Call it being friendly if you like.
Yet there was something about her and it was driving me MAD!
It’s her manner with people, her ways, those 101 little things that you like, or dislike, yet can’t get enough of.
Then I reached the stage of dashing home to get changed to meet her.
Then she came to my works on a Saturday to sit and drink coffee while I worked!
It somehow dawned on me that we were a couple.

Aw hell! How did that happen.
The car got gently unpacked and the rest, as they say, is history.

However what SWMBO got was a raw deal.
An almost divorcee, but with her help that was finalized.
Yippee. The celebration was heartfelt and fun!

A basket case through combat stress.
I just had two pennies to rub together.
The rules of my life were:-
Look after and fill the car with gas, pay the rent, and anything else got spent on food and living.
Not quite broke the whole time but peanuts and boiled rice figured heavily on the menu.
And a warning about health issues which may put me into a wheelchair in later years.

Yet she just shrugged at all of that.
We’ve all got baggage, everyone has, but to us this was a new life we had started.
So no questions from either side, no doubts, This is day one.

We must be doing something right after 28 years of togetherness, 26 of them married.

Ultimately I got the best out of the deal although my investment has shrunk over the past year as SWMBO has lost weight.
One objection. I never knew she was so bony.

And finally some notes.
We became an ‘us’. Never one, we come as a pair.
“What’s mine is ours, what’s hers is hers”.
Funny thing? That’s SWMBO’s words.
Although she does draw the line at pinching my skivvies (shorts)..

Lastly there is a phrase I use to describe what I feel.
I’m as happy as a pig in the mire and and looking forward to growing old(er) together.

From nothing to everything yet still with little in material wealth.
Does that matter though? Not to me.
Tis the prerogative of the poor to say they are richer in other things.
In our case that’s true and I wouldn’t swap one tiny second of what we’ve got.

And here is a link to  SWMBO’s version of this love story. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Another Love Story

Leave a Reply

