How To: Wild Child

Yesterday I made my third batch of “Wild Child.”

What in the heck is “Wild Child”?

When I am in the lab kitchen and make something new, if it turns out, it gets named….in this case,  I named my latest creation “Wild Child” the moment I tasted it.

The multiple flavors and textures  exploded in my mouth,it was visually beautiful to behold and it was good for me…with all of that going for it, it had to have a name that popped.

I continue to work my way, slowly  into the world of fermentation. As per Sando Katz’s suggestion to experiment with texture as well as with various fruit and vegetable combinations, I upped the ante and tripled the amount of peanuts  sweet peppers, and apples yesterday.

Wild Child is 1000% more tasty than its cousin sauerkraut.

This  lacto-fermenting colorful mixture will soon be “brimming with healthy probiotics.”

Wild child 1

Raw ingredients of Wild Child

Don’t have the time to unpack  the health benefits attributed to eating fresh unpasteurized foods this morning vs the pasteurized crap   foods , but they are in two different leagues.  Here’s a link if you’re curious. That article talks about Sauerkraut, but it applies to all fermented foods.

I’ve chosen to use air locks when I’m making small batches of fermented  foods.  You don’t have to, as long as you keep whatever you are fermenting weighed down below the brine.  I just think those little gizmo’s look neat, plus when the fermentation process starts to kick in,  (after a day or two) I like watching it bubble.

Yea, I know, I’m easily entertained. 😉

 

wild child ready to ferment

Ingredients ready to rock

in air locked jars

 

Wild Child

(1) head of cabbage

(1 or 2)  colorful peppers

(1) small can of nuts  (I used salted Spanish peanuts this time)

(3) large apples

(1) cup of raisins

(1) t cumin    (Mrs DM doesn’t care for that spice so I made her a separate batch and skipped this.  I prefer it, because it adds another layer of flavor, and is supposed to be good for you 😉

(2) T pickling salt or slightly less.

Directions:  cut everything up in small pieces, then sprinkle the pickling salt over it.  Knead for 3 to 5 minutes until everything gets limp and juicy…If you’ve never “kneaded” raw vegetables before with a dash of pickling salt, you’re in for a surprise.

At this point, I packed the above ingredients into a 2 qt jar.  Keep packing it in until you absolutely can’t get any more in, and everything is submerged in liquid…I will add just a little water if needed.  put the cap with the air lock on  (or put it in crock that you can cover lightly..

  Do not just put it in a jar with a lid, or it will explode.

That quantity of fruits, vegetables and nuts yielded about 3 quarts. I filled my jars and ate the rest  fresh.

Time to run.  DM

 

 

11 thoughts on “How To: Wild Child

    • this is the 3rd batch.. just more “goodies” (nuts/ raisins/ apples), over time (about 4 to 6 weeks in) it gradually acquires more of a sour taste, still nothing like straight cabbage. and the nuts give it a really fun texture. I almost prefer it fresh but enjoy it after the initial fermentation too because I know I’m getting lots of healthy stuff. btw, I haven’t tried this yet, with Wild Child, but I’m going to…. there is a local pizza here called the Happy Joes Special, that is topped with ham and sauerkraut. it is surprisingly delicious..so need to put some of this stuff on a pizza.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So the nuts are just for texture, is that correct? Do they get sort of weird though, in consistency–not mushy, but something else that I can’t explain obviously. The rest sounds good, but I think I would want to throw the nuts on top just before eating…

    Liked by 1 person

    • they soften up a little. Nuts are full of protein (I think) so not just including them for consistency. Like I mentioned to BEE, I sort of prefer this mix fresh or aged just a day or two before the fermentation kicks in. With all of those vegetables fruit, and nuts it’s got to be good for me 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love how creative and unafraid you are! Your mix sounds good, and reminds me a little of haroseth, the stuff we eat on Passover (goes on the Seder plate, too) that is supposed to be like the mortar the Israelites used while working as slaves for Pharoah. Traditionally, the Eastern European haroset is chopped walnuts, raisins, chopped apples, and wine, maybe cinnamon– all mixed together….but the cabbage doesn’t really sound out of place! Actually, there is another Eastern European dish that is a lot like what you are describing (that I have also only ever had on Passover…I used to hate it but love it now…I remember it particularly well because I ended up making it, along with several other dishes, from my mother’s recipes, last year when I showed up in Cleveland and my mother needed a co-chef a little more than usual). That dish is called “tsimmes” and the recipe from last year included sweet potatoes, apples, prunes, a bunch of cabbage, wine and cinnamon…all layered and roasted in the oven until it was soft and delicious. (Like I said…I love it now, and appreciate how healthy it is…but i would have thought it was absolutely disgusting as little as ten years ago!) Not fermented, but a lot of similarities.
    Question– is pickling salt necessary vs. regular salt? Is it just a coarser salt?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, That is a good question (the salt) Depending on what you read, It sounded like it did make a difference….something about the iodine…but then again, sometimes, people overthink stuff. I didn’t want to waste all of those fruit and vegetables so I did get the picking salt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

