Family Pictures

Theodore_Roosevelt_and_family,_1903

Theodore Roosevelt family 1903  

Compliments of google image

“Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth.  How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them..” Psalm 127

___________________________

Got some pictures back last night from a recent family reunion.  We have four children, all married  and starting families of their own.  It has been a couple of years since we were able to get everyone  together at the same time. Told my wife, I really wanted to make sure we got at least one picture of everyone.

I was am struck by the mixture of  emotions I feel when I look at some of those picture.

You’d never know it, but there is a lot of pain represented….

A lot.

But also joy.

I am currently reading a biography of Theodore Roosevelt my wife picked up at a second hand store for a quarter.  It is one of the better books I’ve read in a while.

The only thing I knew about Theodore before reading this book was a quote he was famous for…that and he had something to do with establishing several national parks while in office. 🙂

Once I got into the book, I grabbed a highlighter.  I was am struck, again and again, by the similarities between his day and our own.

Incompetent leadership on a national level.

The fickleness of public opinion.

The media and its propensity to stir up trouble, gossip and slander.

Inside deals….party bosses…corporate influence..

It’s all there.

But again and again, amidst the ebb and flow of success, and failure, Roosevelt would return to his home in the country to get his bearings. Days filled with children, (and then grand children) the chopping of  firewood, reading,   deep conversations around the dinner table, correspondence, walks  in the woods.  Married to a strong woman in her own right, who gave his life balance.  She had a way of getting through to him, when nobody else could.

Sounds a lot like my life. 😉

family reunion 2016

Family reunion June of 2016

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Family Pictures

    • Thank you. I really did want to share it with those of you that are regular readers. Several of you (yourself included) feel like extended family, I’m sure because of the level of transparency that happens through our writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We have five living generations now, but it is unlikely to get all of our family together, and not just because some of them live in NZ. The generations are on my sister’s side (my mum, sister, her daughters, her grandchildren and one of her grandchildren’s son). If there are any elsewhere in the family I have no idea as I am not privvy. To be honest, I’m not bothered any more as I was discounted years ago. I wouldn’t know most of them if they knocked on my door anyway. Don’t get me wrong, I believe in family and family values, but it works both ways, and I got tired of one way traffic. Nice pic though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, it does get trickier stay connected to the rest of the tribe as the next generations come along. There are several who live locally in our family I would not know if they came to our door either. Seems like the indifference of one generation quickly sets the tone for the ones that follow.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a coincidence, L and I just finished with TR and started FDR’s first 100 days “The Defining Moment” by Jonathan Alter which is also amazing. We’ve been using audio books from the library on an app called Overdrive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will have to come back to those titles and check them out. I still have another 75 pages before I’m done with the book. We still have 9 hours worth of Ken Burnes Roosevelt series to watch. I am learning so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

