Choices

As someone who has battled  self control ,  the following quote by John Maxwell really speaks to me this morning. DM

________________________________________

“Integrity is not determined by circumstances.

Two people can grow up in the same environment, even in the same household, and one will have integrity, and the other won’t.

Ultimately, you are responsible for your choices. Your circumstances are as responsible for your character as a mirror is for your looks. What you see only reflects what you are.”

John Maxwell

2 thoughts on “Choices

  1. I believe this wholeheartedly and yet I still struggle to, as m1cey put it, “own all of it.” So much of me would rather point fingers at my surroundings and say, “but look, this would drive anyone nuts!!” — and then I have to come back to: yeah, but who put you here? And the answer, every time, is still ME. Trying to be loyal to love, sure. Trying to be pragmatic, sure. “for” other people in some ways, yeah. But in the end, it’s all me. All my choice. So then I have to own it– and move forward. If I put me here, I can put myself in the next place. (and by place, I don’t necessarily mean geographical locale.) And maybe I’ll do it even more consciously this time around…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

