Simple Things

Last night we watched the final two episodes of Pioneer Quest, a documentary filmed back in 2000. Two couples stepped back in time to 1870 to carve out a life on the Canadian plains  just north of  Argyle, Manitoba.  I’m not ashamed to tell you, I shed a couple of  tears myself last night as they said good-by…good by to neighbors, the family milk cow, then returned to the twenty-first century.

My guess is, you may be familiar with the series, considering how long ago it was originally released. That’s one of the joys of not having a TV….we have literally missed out on 95% of what’s played on TV since our TV broke back  in  1983.

Several things struck me as we’ve watched that nine part mini series.

Both couples, after their year was up, purposed to not get sucked back into the rat race. Their relationships with their mates had become much more of a priority, after their year together.

I already tend to be thankful for the simple things in life…but watching that series made me even more thankful!

Thankful for hot running water…. I can fill up our bath tub in less than five minutes and soak to my hearts content. I am thankful for an indoor toilet, soft toilet paper,  a stove that provides instant heat at the turn of a dial…a refrigerator (and freezer) both full of food.  A furnace that keeps me warm with the flip of a switch…a roof that keeps me dry when it rains….on and on….

I stepped out of the rat race  in the late 1980’s and for the most part have continued to keep my distance. (not get sucked back in.)

I’ve written on that topic before  here,   here, , here and here so I won’t repeat myself.

After watching Pioneer Quest, I feel like I have the best of both worlds.

I am not stuck in the rat race, relationships are a priority in my life, AND, I get to enjoy the plethora of modern conveniences that many people tend to take for granted in our 21st century.

east before going under

View on the way to town.

Whoever said, Iowa is all flat, and full of bean fields has never been to my part of the state.

view throught the walking trail #2

Sunrise in our wind break.

What simple things are you thankful for?

 

8 thoughts on “Simple Things

  1. That sunrise photo is gorgeous! I’m thankful for long hikes in the wilderness. I’m still too stuck in the rat race. After the hike down to the river in the Grand Canyon, I would love to be a ranger. I would love to work at Phantom Ranch. They live in the canyon for a month at a time. They are so blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I don’t have a TV, computer has been dead for a while, don’t have air conditioning, do have an inside toilet (composting). Rained today, so, couldn’t get much done outside. Perfect excuse to take a nap. Open window, listening to the raindrops, smelling the fresh air, and snoozing. Simple things.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Likewise. We feel we have the best of both worlds here on the boat. Just the basics, but hot water and heat at the flick of a switch, a roof over our heads, food in the fridge and cupboards, indoor plumbing, plus peaceful and quiet surroundings. We haven’t had a TV for almost 10 years, and don’t miss it. Conversations about recent programmes soon dry up, but are replaced with more interesting subjects and observations. Our family unit (Hubby, me and dog) are together, we have made new friends here and our life is better and less complicated. I certainy wouldn’t change it anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am too caught up in a lot of garbage, mostly (for me) via my smartphone and computer. (although I get a lot of study materials through the computer and stay in touch with family and friends on the phone and computer– so not all bad.) I am grateful for my family, more than anything…my kids’ unsolicited hugs, in particular. My younger daughter’s quick defense of anyone she thinks needs defending– from victims of bullies, to people being yelled at, to stray baby squirrels. My older daughter’s incredible loyalty to family and HER protectiveness w/regard to all of us. Also, quiet, wind, water, birds, trees, sunrise and sunset…things that are free and abundant around me, and an endless good reminder that I am just a little being in a big and wonderously made creation…And grace.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

