The Toad

Wednesday afternoon, we were just wrapping up on my job-site after pouring eighty feet of sidewalk and driveway.  I was tired and ready to call it a day.

The neighbor across the street came over and asked me if I could push a piece of his old sidewalk back about twenty feet before we hauled our equipment away.

“Sure thing” I said.

I was able to pick of the concrete by one end, instead of pushing it.   Movement caught my eye just as I was ready to set it into position.

A toad was  trying to hide under the moving concrete slab.

I stopped, opened the door of my cab, and pointed at the toad…

“Would you move him out of the way for me?” I said with a smirk.

The neighbor smiled, grabbed mister toad by the legs and gave him a throw.

That’s how we  I roll out in the here in the heartlands of Merica.

toad

Google photo

11 thoughts on “The Toad

  1. We evicted a couple of rather large brutes when sorting out our drainage back in the cottage. I did rescue a frog from Scraggy, one of our chickens, once, and thinking it was dead tossed it over into the field. Seeing a frog trying to make itself into a parachute before touchdown made me feel more than a little guilty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve carried a lizard, a ladybug or two, and a katydid from boats I was working on. Sometimes, I can’t figure out how in the world they got there, but I figure taking them back to the grasses and shrubbery won’t hurt anything. If they want to go back to the boats, they know the way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

