Emotional Numbness In Men

Last night as I came over the crest of a hill heading home after work, I met a skid loader heading west.   I recognized the guy behind the controls..

What struck me though was the expression on his face.

Blank.

No emotion.  None what so ever.

I know him, and that expression on his face has been there as long as I have known him.

Later last night as I was unwinding, I was thumbing through a book of quotes by (don’t laugh)  Mr Rogers. 🙂

I read the following  and thought of that guy in the skid loader:

 “Part of the problem with the word disability is that it immediately suggests an inability to see or hear or walk or do things that many of us take for granted.  But what of people who can’t feel?  Or talk about their feelings?  Or manage their feelings in a constructive way?  What of people who aren’t able to form close and strong relationships?  And people who cannot find fulfillment in their lives, or those who have lost hope, who live in disappointment and bitterness and find in life no joy, no love?  These it seems to me, are the real disabilities.”

__________________

Now I know there are multiple reasons a person could be experiencing emotionally numbness.  I have a friend who has had heartache after heartache the past few years. In her case, it’s a protective response.  Like the breaker on an electrical panel that trips so the wiring doesn’t overheat.

That’s not what I’m talking about.

One of my role models when it comes to the place of emotions in my life is a man who lived 3000 years ago.  He started out as a farm boy tending sheep.  Made a name for himself as a warrior.  Eventually appointed as king over a  nation.  Not only was he a warrior, but he was a writer, a poet.  If he lived today, there is no doubt in my mind he would have a blog.  His words run the gamut of human emotions.

 His name was David.

Well, I am going to keep this one short and to the point.  Would love to hear your thoughts on this one for sure.

Well, time for another episode of Larkrise to Candleford.  g-nite.  DM

 

 

2 thoughts on “Emotional Numbness In Men

  1. I knew someone once, knew him for about 12 years from the age of 17 to 28. Only realized years later that he’d become more and more emotionally unavailable over time.
    I never thought to connect the word ‘disability’ to being emotionally unavailable, but it makes perfect sense. Unfortunately. He made us for relationships, not to be alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think Mr Rogers was a very wise man. I also think King David would have been a blogger. And I too have felt the heartache that creates nothing but a closed heart. Maybe he’s in a state of perpetual shell shock.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

