Appreciation

installing tile

I stuck my head in the door one last time tonight to tell Edna I was taking off for the day.  We are installing a handicap bath tub and new laundry room on the first floor in her house.  Her husband had a stroke a few weeks ago and I offered to work this project into my already busy schedule.

She thanked me  profusely for all of my hard work today…

(I did put in a big day, I was installing ceramic tile from 8 AM until quitting time and my helper was no show.)

The last thing she said was, “OK….I will see you tomorrow!

Pause…

I love you.” 

One thousand one….one thousand two…..one thousand three….

“I love you too,” I said with a smile, then closed the door and headed home.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. This is so precious. I’m not sure by which I’m most stirred and encouraged: you giving Edna your time and skills in doing her floor, or her giving and you receiving her love! It makes me think of how Matthew 10:41-42 is translated in The Message: “Accepting someone’s help is as good as giving someone help. This is a large work I’ve called you into, but don’t be overwhelmed by it. It’s best to start small. Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice. You won’t lose out on a thing.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • 🙂 Thanks for your kind words Valorie! Good to hear from you. I debated on whether or not to write about this. I’m glad I did. Thanks for sharing that version of Matt. 10! I enjoy the earthy way The Message unpacks those passages some of us have heard a thousand times.

      Like

  2. I love it when my 90 year old friend tells me she loves me. older people know what the words mean and are not afraid to use them. They mean it when they say it. I love you and your wife/family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

