On Writing (1)

I was thumbing through my 2009 Journal the other night and came across a review  Seriouswhimsey had written about me .  I’d forgotten all about it.

Her words stirred something within me.

Here is a portion of what she said:

“I am an explorer.  I love discovering new places in the blogging world.  Once in a while I come across a treasure which absolutely compels me to share it:

      Meet Heart to heart.  The first time I read this Midwest Farmer’s writings, he had me laughing out loud, and wanting to send Christmas Cards to a pig.

     Doug is also a general contractor- a manly man- who happens to have the eye of an artist, a tender heart, a riotous sense of humor, and an adorable wife who looks so young you’d never dreamed they’ve been married thirty years – unless they took their vows when she was, like six….

_______________________________

OK,  here’s the deal.  It feels like there are two different people in my brain who write on this blog.

Sometimes, the words feel  forced and wooden, and other times I feel relaxed and the words just flow.

(That doesn’t mean I don’t expect to  edit after the fact, because I do…it’s just that sometimes even when I feel the stirring to write the end result is strained, while other times,  the end result does a better job capturing the real me as when I’m  relaxed.)

I am not alone.

Imagine my delight and surprise when I discovered Wordsmith John Muir wrested with the same thing… 🙂

As I continue to slowly make my way through the book  John Muir  His Life and Letters and Other Writings, I came across  the following words last night:

 “…in letters to friends, Muir complained that in town he is unable to compel the right mood for the production of readable articles….”As yet I have accomplished very nearly nothing,” he writes…. “how astoundingly empty and dry – box-like!- is our brain…

     The fact is that Muir’s personal letters, like his conversation, flowed smoothly and easily; but when he sat down to write an article, his critical faculty was called into play, and his thoughts, to employ his own simile, “began to labor like a laden wagon in a bog.” … There was a consequent loss of that spontaneity which made him such a fascinating talker.”

_____________________

john muir the writer

John Muir 

Here’s to a new year of fascinating , engaging, and thoughtful writing!  The last thing I want to do is clutter up your inbox with dry,wooden, boring words.

Life is too short.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “On Writing (1)

  1. Sometimes we’re wordsmiths, and sometimes we cobble words together. So it goes. Some of the worst writing I’ve ever read has come from people I otherwise find enchanting.

    Here’s to another year of finding the right approach!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are right! I remember reading a review of Ralph Waldo Emerson. The point was made that yes there were several gold nuggets to be found within his work…but there were thousands and thousands of pages of words that were not all that great. 🙂

      Like

  2. When I have serious writing to do, sometimes I’ll sit down before the screen, fingers on the keyboard and realize that it just ain’t gonna happen that day. I’ve found the same thing to be true of playing chess or guitar. Sometimes I just can’t “see the board” or feel the music.

    That’s a problem of course if you’re taking a final all-essay exam and it happens to be one of those days. Fortunately, in this life I can walk away and come back another day.

    So I have great admiration for folks who can effortlessly spill out great writing on demand–if they even exist.

    Thanks for sharing your wisdom and never-dull writing with us DM. All best wishes for a very happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

