The Box Of Slides

Got home this afternoon from a whirlwind trip to meet our new grand-daughter.  After getting a bite to eat, checking e-mails, the weather forecast, etc.  I was still too wound up from 5 hours in the car, so I went out into our overflow storage room to plan…

On the trip, I had some free time so I started making a list of things I want to do, once I get caught up on work.   One of the things on the list is get the storage room organized…but I’m going to need a plan because there is just so much random stuff out there..(which was why I headed out there this afternoon)

Anyway, my eyes spotted a box my aunt Rosie had sent home with me a year or three ago…35 mm slides from great-aunt Annie who had died several years ago.  She was from Germany and my Rosie said there were slides in the box dating back to World War One.

Rosie gave me the box because she knows I love history.

A part of me wanted to just pitch the whole box because I really don’t have the time to look through 500 teeny tiny 35 mm slides of people I don’t know,  not to mention the writing is in German. ….but what the heck, I dragged the box into the house, and pulled out an envelope with some loose slides.  (Most of them are in plastic trays but a handful had been stuffed into an envelope.

First slide I held to the light I hit pay dirt.

It was a picture of me when I was about 3 years old. Aunt Annie had visited the US back in 1961 or 62.

I still remember that visit.

Grandpa and Grandma were still living on the farm. I remember getting lifted up into a wooden wagon, and hanging on as Grandpa picked ear corn…I can still remember the ears of corn shooting out of the picker, banging onto the wood floor.

There was a picture of the family dog Feedie sitting on the front seat of an old pick up.

A picture of my brother Steve and I dressed in  Lederhosen.

Some pictures of my grandpa unloading square bales of hay onto an elevator…

I have never seen any of these images before.  I shot a message to a friend who is big into photography tonight, asking what would be the best way to get some of them developed.

I’m thinking there may be a couple of them that would make awesome Christmas gifts..

We’ll see.

Here’s a couple of pictures from Aunt Annie’s visit I have seen before…

me in my lederhosen and the puppy

Me  and Feedie on the front porch of my grandparents farm

Brothers (1)

Me age 3

To be continued….

_________________

Update 10/30/2015

The Vupoint digital slide converter came today. (It scans and converts old 35 mm slides to a digital format)  Just getting started on it…here is one of slides from the box…a picture of myself and my brother Steve with Great Aunt Annie, about 1961.  Check out that bow tie 🙂 DM

PICT0017 - Copy

15 thoughts on “The Box Of Slides

  1. What a treasure! You can’t throw any of those away, you know. There’s decluttering, and then there’s foolishness! I wish I had more photos from the family, but they just weren’t photo takers, or even letter writers, for all that. Still, every one is invaluable.

    And you certainly were a cute kid!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right! I just quoted your comment to Mrs DM…”there is decluttering and then there is foolishness!” You are so wise 😉 Good to hear from you. DM

      Like

  2. Good looking kid, and the cutes Lederhosen! Those heart pockets totally made me giggle. Finding such treasure after so many years is almost as fun as kid is haviong finding some old forgotten candy in a coat pocket.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Treasures indeed. What a thrill it must have been to discover those. Love the heart-shaped pockets. 🙂 Pictures like that really bring history alive.

    I rescued lots of old photographs from our family “home place” when we were restoring it. Sadly I don’t know most of the people and I still haven’t figured out the best way to catalog and store what we have. But last week at the market I showed one of the old pictures to an elderly man who comes by our booth and who grew up on this farm. He confirmed my suspicion–the photo of 3 boys is of him, my father and my uncle. He’s the only one of the three still alive and one of the few people alive who could have identified that photo. Sure glad I showed it to him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great conversation to have! I just got the little scanner today from Amazon that allows me to convert the slides to digital. I started working with it tonight. Pretty slick and easy to use. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

