Grandfather’s Soapbox

Willow's birthday, meeting big brother Owen - Copy

Owen and his new sister Willow Christine

The first of August our son, his wife, and their one year old son. moved in with us for a few weeks while their remodeled farmhouse was finished. Wife was  8 months pregnant when they moved in, and guess what happened night before last… 🙂

We’ve been empty-nester’s  since 2012 so this has been an unexpected treat to connect with all of them on a deeper level while they have been with us.

Side note:  As we were raising our own little brood, (we had four ) one of my main goals  (as a parent) was to work myself out of a job.  I believe by the time each of them hit 18, my role as their authority figure was 99% finished…. and 100% once they moved out.

Forgive me for a moment, while I stand on a soap box….What boggles my mind, is the number of my peers who still believe they are called to  try and control some aspect of their adult children’s lives.

Boggles my mind.

 So as son and family moved in short term, all of this was firmly in place.

If you were to stop by our place most nights the last month,you might find Owen and I jamming to some  Celtic drummers on Youtube, or my all time favorite cover artist Mike Masse.

Mostly wanted to post this brief update to celebrate the birth of Willow Christine.

I’ll close with another song that always gives me pause when I take the time to listen to the words…it’s called Generations by Sara Groves.  She talks about the choices you and I make now, (both good and bad,) that have a way of touching our children, their children, their children’s children…you get the idea.

Well, time for a nap 🙂  DM

5 thoughts on “Grandfather’s Soapbox

  1. Congratulations! What a wonderful blessing for you all — parents, siblings, and of course grandparents. Willow Christine is a beautiful name. I’ll bet Owen is excited beyond words — at least, I hope so. Time enough for sibling rivalry to develop!

    It’s great that they were able to stay with you while the house was being finished. That no doubt eliminated some headaches.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are welcome. It’s been fun getting to know Owen a lot better the past month. When you’re only together once in a while for an hour or two, it’s hard to connect, compared to seeing him daily for larger blocks of time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

