Apple Harvest

little girl eating apple

Well, apple picking time has arrived  full force.

( I could really use your help Kristina for the next month!)

My goal this past week has been to pick 12 crates of apples each night after work.

The volume of fruit this season is overwhelming, but I have to start somewhere.

Everything is two weeks early.

And multiple varieties are ready at the same time.

IMG_6755

IMG_5320

I thought I had a lead on a used apple washing machine this past week, but found out  too late.  A new set up is several thousand dollars which I simply can not justify.  Neither do I have time to hand wash 25,000 apples, so once things slow down this winter, I am giving serious thought to fabricating my own set up from scratch.

My days  the past several weeks have been so packed between my real job building houses, the harvest table business that seems to be taking off, and now the apple harvest, I haven’t had time to read or comment on many of your blogs as much as I would like to.

I did place an order with Visti-prints and had 5 of my photos turned into post cards…(let me know if you’d like to purchase some..they are $.50 each or (5) for $2.00.  (just leave me a comment and I will be in touch via e-mail)

Here are  a couple of the pictures:

brainards Oaks

Sunrise West of Mom and Dad’s

cortlands2011

Cortlands

gingergold 2010crop 004

Ginger Golds

Tell me something about apples and your life.  (It could be a memory of going to a favorite orchard when you were little, an apple recipe, a variety you like and why,), It just has to have some connection (however small) with apples. 😉

Thanks for reading along! DM

12 thoughts on “Apple Harvest

  1. We picked a few just yesterday, some apples as well as peaches and pears. Now on to making apple crumble. 🙂 My grandpa used to pack up much of his apples from his big apple orchard and transport them somehow from Lithuania to St. Petersburg, Russia (then Leningrad) to sell. I have no idea how it made it profitable to do that, but somehow it did. . I like all the sour varieties.

    Liked by 1 person

    • we planted some peach trees this Spring in honor of our grand children..probably 4 or 5 years until they start producing, but can’t wait to make some peach jam (and pies) What do you do with your peaches and pears? Tell me more about your grandpa! Have you ever written anything about him? I love hearing about our ancestors from the old countries. My Oma immigrated from Germany when she was just 19, so I feel a kindren connection to those who immigrate Have you ever watched this Neal Diamond clip “Coming to America” : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRTHdC7k4uY

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you. Will watch the clip. I think my kids will inherit my parent’s fruit trees back in Lithuania, that will be neat. Your grandkids are lucky. 🙂
        I had written pieces about my grandpa in Lithuanian that were read during family reunions to commemorate his death. He fought in WWII across Europe, then lived under the Soviets. I need to write something up in English. All four of my grandparents were quite interesting characters, farming the land. My memories about grandma, dad, and general stories are here: https://beehappeenow.wordpress.com/soviet-life/
        I immigrated at age 20, similar to your grandma.
        The peaches that we got, we mainly eat up fresh, used a few to make homemade ice cream, and will probably make peach cobbler tonight. We like making little kolachky-type pastries with apples and pears.
        Back in the old country, we used to make lots and lots of home made chunky apple sauce to be eaten fresh with pancakes, pork, etc. etc. Grandma also made what she called “apple cheese” – kind of like a big chunk of apple leather, could store it for a long long time and was favorite among us kids. We would also preserve apples in gallon jars as “compote” – apples boiled in syrup (water and sugar) and would drink that in winter and eat up the apples from it.
        We also dried a lot of apples for winter snacks.
        Thank you for asking, and best of luck with all the harvesting!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I miss our apple tree……. huge bramley cookers by the ton. In heavy winds, we lost a lot, so bagged them up and left them in the woods car park (where we walked the dog) with a notice ‘Fallers, please take’. About 20 bags all went by the time we returned to the car. We offloaded a lot to a local tea rooms (made jams and chutneys) and were given cream teas in exchange. We gave bags to the postman, the neighbours, even took 3 bags down to my sister!, and still we had loads left to eat, freeze and sadly rot on the tree. Made me miss my Dad even more as he would have made wine, but even then, I don’t think he could have used them all.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bramley cookers.I will have to look that variety up..I’m betting you have varieties of apples across the pond we don’t have here… What’s chutney? And your dad made wine from the apples? that sounds like fun! I’ve toyed around with making something like that from them but I’m afraid I’ll get hooked on the stuff . 🙂

      Like

      • Bramley apples are the best for cooking as they go nice and soft so are good for sauces as well as crumbles and pies.
        Now if I say chutney is a pickle, you’ll think it’s a gherkin or something. Pickle here in the UK is a relish we put with cheese, meats, and/or crusty bread (not to be confused with yukky imo mustardy piccalilli). Chutneys can be sweet or savoury, but as they’re on the spicy side, the sweet ones aren’t designed to be desserts!
        My Dad made wine out of any fruit and a lot of veg (parsnip, swede, carrot, potato, beans) and even tea! He left the latter in the attic for 5 years and it was the most gorgeous sherry! The best was his elderflower champagne and also his black cherry wine, though his blackberry wine revived my budgie which had had a stroke.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Two apple related thoughts inspired by your post DM- BTW yours look wonderful.
    Sad thoughts include the fact that much of our early apple crop, stored to the north of where grown, has burned in our states wildfires (Washington). While the communities mourn lives and homes lost, it was also devastating to see warehouses full of harvested apples burned to ash.
    On the happy side, I always tend to think back to making applesauce with Gravenstein apples. Some my dad would bring back on his fall trip to Grandma’s house, who had a few trees lining her back garden patch. Others we would harvest from neighborhood trees, and I remember those were usually the ones that had fallen, because (as I was told) they make the best sauce 🙂 It’s funny, but this is one of the better memories I have of actually doing something with my mom–just actually doing something normal with her, early in the day before she was too drunk and the smell of that simmering, sweet, cinnamon scented sauce bubbling on the stove. Funny also-we never ate the Gravensteins just to eat them, they were always only for sauce.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is something nurturing about going to Grandma’s house to get apples. Do you have any room where you live to have an apple tree or 2? Finally, would you believe right this very moment I have a pot of windfall apples simmering on the stove to make home made apple sauce? I just sprinkled some cinnamon into the pot before sitting down to read the comments, and the smell of cinnamon is still lingering on my fingers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Those are some fine looking apples DM. I ate my weight in apples every year when I was a kid. Nowadays one a day is enough.

    Cherie is going to try to make apple cider vinegar this fall. Will be interesting to see how that turns out. I may even intercept some hard cider. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, that is a lot of apples! Wow. You can start an apple-picking side business. People can pay you to come pick. It’s a luxury for some! My only real apple experience besides visiting farms and paying to pick was with two trees in my backyard once that never ever bore a single apple 😦

    Like

  6. Applesauce was my love when I was growing up in Iowa. That, and bobbing for apples, and caramel apples at Halloween (and in the fall, generally). Every fall now I make pilgrimage to a little Texas town called Medina, where they have orchards, and lots and lots of apples. They sell a concoction called apple pie in a jar — it’s a huge jar of already seasoned apples that can be heated up and put over ice cream or pancakes, or used as filling for streudel or pie.

    No one else has brought a recipe, but here’s one for you. It’s great because it’s a one-bowl process. It makes a wonderful, moist cake that can do well as a breakfast bread or as dessert. I just love it.

    Apple Cake

    2 c finely diced apple
    3/4 – 1 c sugar
    1/4 c. vegetable oil
    1 egg, beaten
    1 c unsifted flour

    1 tsp cinnamon (I use about 1 Tablespoon)
    1 tsp nutmeg
    1 tsp ground clove
    1 tsp baking soda
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 tsp vanilla

    1/2 c chopped pecans
    1/2 c raisins

    Place apples in mixing bowl. Add sugar, stir to mix. Let stand 1/2 hour or until sugar is dissolved, stirring occasionally.

    Add oil and egg, blend. Stir in flour, soda, salt and spices. Add vanilla, nuts and raisins. Turn into greased and floured 8″ cake pan.
    Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes. Cool in pan for ten minutes.

    Note: spices may be adjusted, and other dried fruits or nuts may be substituted. It’s good with cranberries and walnuts, too. If you want, you can use olive oil.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will have to show this recipe to the Mrs and see if she’ll make it 🙂 Bobbing for apples..I haven’t done that in ages! Was actually thinking about it earlier this week when I was washing a tub full of Honey Crisp.:-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

