God’s Little Creatures

Forgotten Language

Once I spoke the language of the flowers,
Once I understood each word the caterpillar said,
Once I smiled in secret at the gossip of the starlings,
And shared a conversation with the housefly
in my bed.
Once I heard and answered all the questions
of the crickets,
And joined the crying of each falling dying
flake of snow,
Once I spoke the language of the flowers. . . .
How did it go?
How did it go?

__________________________________
      Got together for home made pizza tonight with  a former co-worker and his wife.   We were catching up on each other’s lives, sipping on hard apple cider, munching on chips and sweet mango salsa as our conversation went from one  subject to another.
     I’ve been looking forward to tonight ever since we wrote it down on our calendar six weeks ago.
     At one point, I mentioned picking wild black raspberries behind the barn, and spotting a small white moth  trapped in a spider web. It had caught my eye because  it was still thrashing around. I told Chris that on a lark, I decided to intervene and free the moth with a  small stick. Next thing I knew, the moth got away, and flew onto my shirt, as if to say, “Oh thank you!” before taking off.
       I mentioned I had posted that silly little story on Facebook, the day it happened and was surprised at the number or people who “liked” or commented on the incident.
     Chris then told us about a cricket he’d rescued recently at work on the shop floor. Instead of killing it, he scooped it up, walked over to the door and let him go.  He said the two guys he was working with both looked at him like he was nuts.
       There is a whole undercurrent of life happening all around us, all the time.
     Yesterday as I was looking out the window to our front porch, I noticed the bird bath water was empty. We’d been gone for three days to a family reunion, and the heat index in our area was over 100 degrees.  I noticed a little sparrow standing on our porch floor with his wings slightly spread, his beak open, panting.
    I happened to be on the phone with our daughter Rebekah, whom we only get to see a few times a year, so I didn’t want to stop mid conversation and fill up the  bird bath, but at the same time, having just finished working outside myself in the killer heat,  my heart went out to the little sparrow.  I figured, he was not the only bird on our property who was in need of water….so just as soon as I hung up with Rebekah, I went outside, and filled the bird bath.
     I am not a tree hugger.
     I love my steak cooked rare, thank you very much.
      I do not believe animals are on the same plane as we humans…
      I do not believe in reincarnation.  (ie. you and I may come back as a bug, animal etc. depending on how we behaved  this time around.  )
    But I do believe life is precious.
      Period.
After we ate tonight Chris brought out a book of poetry by Shel Silverstein.  I asked him if he wouldn’t mind reading a few of his poems, since I was not familiar with him as a writer.  One of the poems he read was called Forgotten Language.  Seemed to segue into the conversation around the dinner table…
Well,  it has been as lovely evening, think I will call it a wrap. DM
16 thoughts on “God’s Little Creatures

  1. Lovely post. I’ve ‘saved’ a bumble bee from a store room by feeding it sugar water, a bat having lost it’s way by putting it back in some ivy out of the sun, a pigeon that had got trapped in an attic (did a post on that as it flew up my skirt), and on our walks, if we see a tired bee, we try to find a flower to put it on. Life is indeed precious.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sounds like a heart of mercy and kindness beats in you as well 😉 You have more “moxey” than I….While I would not intentionally kill a bat, I’m always concerned they may have rabies.. Thanks for your comments! 😉 DM

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This post was both a good reminder that we sometimes forget the purpose to the existence of some creatures, say those who have numerous legs that scurry or the ones without legs but who leave slime trails to mark their journey. It also illustrates, if one wants to go deeper, the way in which many in our society might stop to help a lesser creature yet toss aside those of their own species based on fear, or lack of understanding, or even hate.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m constantly “re-homing” bugs and spiders that I find in the house. Most people I know roll their eyes at me… But then I also collect slugs and bugs and feed them to the chickens when the chickens aren’t allowed to forage in my gardens for themselves. I do apologize to them first though…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I love Shel Silverstein…and I don’t think I’ve read that particular poem. It’s wonderful! Very fitting post for me today based on an incident involving a fallen baby bird and my daughter which occurred yesterday. Anyways…we do try to be a “no kill home” as much as is realistic. We always take the crickets outside :). It is a sign of character, I think, when we as big human beings try to do a kindness to the smaller creatures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like that phrase…”no kill home” (as much as realistic) Hadn’t thought about it quite like that, but I think you hit the nail on the head..it is a sign of character….as a stronger creature showing kindness to the smaller.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think it was last fall that I found a tiny snail making its way up the fiberglass side of a boat. How it got there, I haven’t a clue. I’m pretty sure it didn’t walk — it was a long way down that pier! But I plucked it off, and carried back down the dock. A nice, moist flowerbed probably gave it everything it needed, including something to munch on.

    Your post reminds me of a wonderful quotation from Annie Diillard: “We have not yet encountered any god who is as merciful as a man who flicks a beetle over on its feet.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We just came in from our post-supper walk. On the way back I found a beetle on its back in the road. I turned it over.
    Albert Schweitzer (I think it was him) gave as an example of basic environmental ethics that when we take a step and have the option of either stepping on a beetle or not, the obvious choice is not to step on the beetle.
    I am of the opinion that we have a moral duty to be compassionate to animals. But even folks who don’t share that opinion should agree that gratuitous cruelty is immoral.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

