Wild Black Raspberry Moon Tea And Other Revolutionary Ideas

Don’t you just love that name? 🙂

Wild Black Raspberry Moon Tea.

The way it rolls off the tongue…

Two years ago we picked a bumper crop of wild black raspberries .

Had so many of them I even experimented with dehydrating a few.

 picking berries

Picking berries behind the barn

Wife likes to put them in her smoothie.

In the winter when work slows down, I will often get an impulse to putter in the kitchen.  (It’s a form of aroma therapy.)

I asked my mom to teach me how she makes salsa couple of winters ago.

Last year I got on a jam making kick.

The way I look at it, following a new recipe is really not much different than working off a blueprint.

Back when my Oma (grandmother) was still alive, I asked her to teach me how to make her home made rye bread.  That memory of her and I in the kitchen is still one of my favorites.  She was one of those old school cooks that did everything by feel.

I love the aroma of rising bread.  The smell of the yeast doing whatever yeast does.

I really love the feel of kneading bread.

Two winters ago, I decided to experiment with making some wild black raspberry tea.

I took some of the dehydrated berries and  ground them in my coffee grinder.  I ordered some new  tea bags off the Internet and bingo.

Wild black raspberry tea.

It completely exceeded my expectations.

And the dehydrated berries keep for ever.

Last month, when the weather started to warm up, I  decided to mix the wild black raspberry tea  with some red rose tea we had in the pantry.

This new brew is too good to keep to myself, so here are my proportions:

General directions:

(1) gallon of cold  water

(4) bags of  red rose black tea

(1) large bag of wild black raspberry tea bag (one heaping teaspoon of dehydrated/ ground berries)

Combine  ingredients and let steep overnight, preferably outside under the moon. 😉

There is enough natural sugar in the wild black raspberries, you really do not need to add a sweeter (although you sure can).

________________________

Side note-

I did not grow up helping out in the kitchen. nor did I see it modeled. This will probably sound harsh, and I don’t mean it to be, but I’ve never seen my dad, do anything in the kitchen, except maybe pour himself a cup of coffee. 🙂

Once I started living my life more intentionally, and paying attention to my interests and passions, that enabled me to push past the negative self talk ...

“What in the heck are you doing baking a pie..that’s for girls.????.”

Once I was able to short circuit the nay-saying thoughts,  whole new areas of life opened up to me.

A few years ago, a cross stitch sampler pattern caught my eye.   I asked my friend Hannah if she would consider making it for me,…I offered to pay her…. but when she explained the hours and hours involved, I decided that wasn’t going to work, so I taught myself.

I remember calling in to a local radio station a few years ago and having a conversation about me cross stitching (at the time).  The lady DJ half jokingly, half seriously questioned my masculinity…She could not quite picture a man cross stitching.

 I reminded her of  Rosey Greir. Not only was he a professional football player, he was also  famous for publishing a book on needle point for men.

I told her I also loved pouring concrete, shooting guns, was able to butcher a pig, rode a motorcycle (at the time) and  there was no doubt in my mind I can hold my own in the world of men.

She reluctantly conceeded, and well, I don’t care 🙂   DM

Here’s a sampler I built 😉 as I was learning to cross stitch:

Doug's Sampler - Copy

16 thoughts on “Wild Black Raspberry Moon Tea And Other Revolutionary Ideas

  1. The tea sounds lovely. It seems as if it would make a nice iced tea as well, something I have been drinking a lot of during our heat wave. Do you still have the sampler by chance? I would love to see a picture of it if you feel so inclined. Cross stitch, and embroidery of most kinds was something I loved to do. My last attempts, with a traditional Danish form of embroidery/lace-making about 6 years ago cemented the fact into my brain that arthritis and folk arts such as stitching do not mix. I long deeply to have the opportunity to stitch a sampler again 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The tea sounds divine! Amazing things happen when we open ourselves up to the world. I started by saying ‘no’ to what I didn’t want to/have to do, getting rid of bad/draining/go nowhere relationships and cleared out a lot of emotional clutter. That opened up my world to say ‘YES’ a lot — and it’s been so much fun to see what comes to me when I do 🙂 MJ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never, ever would have thought of drying blackberries to use later in anything, let alone tea. It sounds absolutely wonderful. And I’m with you on the aroma of bread. If they could bottle that, they’d sell a ton more than Chanel or Givenchy!

    There were a couple of guys who did beautiful embroidery and crewel work in one of my congregations. And, in Ethiopia, embroidery is men’s work among some of the tribes. So there!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You know , I read a post last month on Andrea’s blog ( http://andreahejlskov.com/) where she talked about tea made from the leaf of black raspberries..(or at least I think that is where I read it ) 😉 which gave me the idea to try the dehydrated berries themselves. I have toyed around with using the leaves for tea but haven’t gotten around to it. How about you? Have you ever made tea with the leaves? Sounds like they have a hint of black raspberry flavor…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you. Oh, yes, I remember Andrea’s post. Yes, I will just have to try the leaves. I drank lots of raspberry leaf tea when pregnant/post partum but it was store bought, and so expensive.
        Specialty teas with lots of various herbs and dehydrated berries are very popular in Lithuania, in fact tea shop business has really picked up. Your dehydrated berry tea reminded me of that, they have these bins and bins of tea varieties, and you walk in and they will scoop what you like into little bags.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

