Sugar trivia and my mom’s fudge recipe

I was sitting in my Doctor’s waiting room two weeks ago, thumbing through an old Readers Digest when the following title caught my eye:

How to Crack Your Sugar Addiction.

( click that link, and it will take you to the article I read)
      “Imagine making a nearly life-size sculpture of yourself out of sugar cubes and consuming it over the next 365 days.  That is essentially what many of us are doing.  The typical American eats

an average of 128 pounds of added sugars each year according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture.  And it affects our bodies on every level…”

I love chocolate milk and for almost 40 years have consumed (3) 20 oz glasses of it a day. (or more)

This past week I started paying attention to the number of grams of sugar in the things I consume.

4 grams of sugar = 1 tsp = 1 sugar cube.

1) 20 oz. cup of chocolate milk contains  30 grams of sugar

30 grams X 3 20z glasses of chocolate milk ) = 90 grams of sugar consumed in a day.

90 grams divided by 4 = 22.5 tsps (or 22.5 sugar cubes a day)

22.5 sugar cubes a day!

chocolate milk

And that is just the sugar in the chocolate milk, doesn’t even touch the sugar in all of it’s various forms in the rest of the food I have been eating.

This morning I decided to estimate the amount of  sugar I have consumed to date (from youth till now.)

Are you  ready?

6203 pounds

3 tons

3 tons of sugar.

By the grace of God I have not developed type 2 diabetes (yet), but it runs in the family.

My grandma had it.

My dad has it.

I feel like I need to write a letter of apology to my pancreas.

20 years ago, I remember one of the mothers in the church we were attending was known for being  a sugar Nazi.  At the time I  thought she was one of those over the top/ crazy/ over protective  parents.

Turns out  I was wrong and she was 20 years ahead of her time.

I’m not planning to go all Nazi on this sugar issue, but I am in the process of making some long term health choices.

My mom makes a killer home made fudge recipe that I will continue to eat, if she offers it to me 🙂

Chocolate milk is no longer on the menu.

One of the (bigger) food related issues for me has been uncontrollable food cravings and binge eating.  From what I’m reading, some of that may go away, once the sugar addiction has been broken.

Several of you that are regular readers with medical backgrounds would probably know more about this than me, but too much sugar may play into some cancer cell growth.

It’s taken way too long but I am finally interested in eating more healthy.

The first 40 years of my life, I was able to eat whatever I wanted, when ever I wanted  and not gain a pound.

Those days are gone.

It may sound like I’m talking out of both sides of my mouth, but I thought this would be a good time to post my mom’s fudge recipe:

_________________________

GRANDMA CONLEY’S CHOCOLATE FUDGE

1 CUP MILK
2 CUPS SUGAR
6 t. COCOA HEAPING
2t WHITE KARO SYRUP

1t BUTTER LATER
1t VANILLA LATER
BLACK WALNUTS AS  MUCH AS YOU WANT ( MAYBE 1/2  CUP)

YOU HAVE TO STIR ALL THE TOP 4 INGREDIENTS  TOGETHER BEFORE YOU PUT
ON ANY HEAT.
USE A HEAVY POT TO COOK ON HIGH( NEVER STIR ONCE ON HEAT) I USED A SMALL
PRESSURE  COOKER PAN.
I WOULD TAKE A GLASS OF COLD WATER AND WITH A SPOON, DIP IN AS SOON AS
YOU CAN SEE IT IS BOILING DOWN IN THE PAN, A DROP IN WATER WILL HAVE A
SMALL BALL AND I WOULD ALWAYS THINK A TAIL. SOFT BALL STAGE ON A CANDY
THERMOMETER , TAKE OFF HEAT AND ADD THE BUTTER  DO NOT STIR TILL COOLED
DOWN.
START TO BEAT AND THE COLOR WILL CHANGE TO A LIGHTER CHOCOLATE COLOR,
ADD VANILLA.
HAVE A DISH BUTTERED AND CAN ADD BLACK WALNUTS READY TO ADD JUST BEFORE
YOU PUT ON PLATE.
LET IT SET UP, THEN CUT IN TO SIZE YOU WANT.
IT’S REALLY HARD TO GET IT PERFECT, BUT WITH PRACTICE IT’S THE BEST
AND SO CREAMY !!!!   MOM

______________________

At the end of the day, it’s all about moderation, personal choice and living with the consequences.   DM

25 thoughts on “Sugar trivia and my mom’s fudge recipe

  1. I am a chocolate malt Ovaltine fanatic. I would drink it all day if I could, but I limit it to a bedtime snackie – which probably isn’t so great either. My Mom tells me, that for every pound you lose, it is like losing four sticks of butter off your middle. That really puts things in perspective. Thanks for the post and the recipe.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve never had Ovaltine…is it anything like Nestles quick? I always think about every extra 8 pounds I’m carrying is like lugging around a gallon of milk (which is also 8 pounds) Thanks for your comment:-)! DM

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ovaltine is so much better than Nestle – chock-full of vitamins. Yumm!!!! I had no idea a gallon of milk weighed that much. No wonder I am tired, I think I am carrying at least 4 gallons of milk around. Oh well.

        Like

  2. Great Post, and 40 is about the time every one starts getting on board with taking a look at how they are treating the body and better ways of taking care of it, if they have not already. I sadly have sweet tooth binges. Work in Progres Mystical Luna Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment! So true..I think we are all a work in progress…it’s kind of like playing the mole game for me….get one issue under control and something else comes to the forefront.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I shudder to think how much sugar I’ve eaten in a lifetime. Thanks to all your posts about sugar, I have decided to give it up for 40 days. Well, the cookies, cake, candy, and ice cream anyway. Gotta have it in the coffee. I can’t do cream. It tastes yucky that way. And as one of your medical professional friends, I’m ashamed to admit, I don’t think about healthy living for myself much at all. I like to think I’m preparing my body for future medical professionals of the world. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • that encouraged me to hear you were going to give up the sugar stuff for 40 days…The trick is to put something else in their place.. The book this article was based on, recommended whipping up a batch of “soup-o-liscious” which was basically a soup full of various vegetables..quite tasty actually.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that her recipe reads as she spoke about it 🙂 Those are the best ones.

    Good on you for making healthy choices. My downfall isn’t sweet rather it’s salty goodies — popcorn (#1) and chips (#2). If I can cut those back I will be better off 🙂

    MJ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. WOW – when you break it down the way you did in the intro, it’s sobering! I’m a big potato fanatic – mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, scalloped potatoes. You know the scene in Forrest Gump when his buddy mentions all the ways to cook shrimp, that’s me, only with potatoes! And since starches break down into sugars in the body…yikes! Thank goodness I also love broccoli 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know this until my diabetic friends told me — sweet potatoes are much better for us than white. It sounds counter-intuitive, but in fact, the sweet potatoes are so high in fiber, the sugars break down much more slowly. Hooray!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know I think we are going to incorporate more sweet potatoes into our grocery list. I made a batch of “soupalicious” this weekend (it was a multi-vegetable soup with sweet potatoes as one of the ingredients and it was pretty tasty.

        Like

        • Wife was making cookies 2 weekends ago, and had the brown sugar sitting on the counter…it had started to harden into a solid chunk…I started cutting little pieces off of it and the next thing I knew, the chunk had disappeared and I was busted… which was why I decided I needed to do something about my sugar addiction. I love brown sugar too 😉

          Like

    • Susan, I do the Forest Gump thing when it comes to chicken…fried chicken, baked chicken, chicken salad, broasted chicken..my favorite is KFC extra crispy. and I can tolerate broccoli 😉 (peas and corn, not so much)

      Like

  6. I love my sweets, but I’ve slowly been weaning myself off them with one simple trick: homemade desserts. For one thing, homemade pies, cobblers, cookies and such are so much better than anything from the grocery store, I’ve become almost impervious to the call of Pepperridge Farm, Oreos, or candy bars. I still love really good chocolate, but having limited myself to really good chocolate on special occasions for a couple of years, there’s just no appeal to the stuff with the high paraffin content.

    And then there’s this: when you make your own treats, you can control the amount of sugar. My recipe for cobbler calls for six cups of fruit and a cup of sugar. I made a blackberry cobbler last weekend, and put in only a half-cup. It was perfectly fine, and fruitier tasting than if I’d dumped in what the recipe called for.

    Of course, fudge is different. Exact ingredients and precise cooking still count, there. I still use the recipe off the old Hershey’s cocoa tin. In fact, I still have our tin from the 1950s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did the same thing w/ home made jam this Winter..cut way back on the amount of sugar the recipe called for…(like 1/4 the amount. ) It was crazy the amount of sugar they called for (and this was before I read that article about sugar) Just something instinctively I had, that said to me..that is way too much sugar. (I too am currently impervious to the call of candy bars in the isle. and I am a big “Mr Goodbar fan.

      Like

  7. At the end of the day, it’s all about moderation, personal choice and living with the consequences.

    Well said. Moderation is the key. For some people (alcoholics for example) moderation won’t work and abstinence is necessary. But for the vast majority of us it’s a matter of self-control and dietary discipline. Then, once we’ve established a good diet and are bodies are accustomed to it, the cravings go away. Of course that’s all easier said that done–especially in a culture that bombards us with opportunities and temptations to eat sugar. Every check out line, no matter what store it is, seems to have candy for sale in it now. And these days when processed food products proclaim on the label that they have “Reduced Fat,” it almost always means the fat has simply been replaced with sugar. It takes effort to eat well in our culture.

    Good luck DM!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

