Étude to Silence

Wanted to share this one with you this morning from one of my favorite writers. Scroll through the comment section as well if you have the time. lots of good discussion. DM

Behind the White Coat

IMG_4927

“Soon silence will have passed into legend. Man has turned his back on silence. Day after day he invents machines and devices that increase noise and distract humanity from the essence of life, contemplation, meditation.” – Jean Arp

How does silence affect you? Do you crave it? Find it difficult to bear? Why? Is it harder for you to come by now? What is your biggest obstacle? Do you actively try to avoid silence? Why?

I was asked to elaborate on my statement last week:

“For the past week, while the kids were on spring break, I had the thirty minute commute to the clinic and back all by myself. I purposely kept the radio off which soon made me I realize how difficult it is to be alone with my thoughts. As my mind began traveling down a path I was not comfortable with I would absently reach for…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

