My life as a writer and woodworker this winter

I’m a morning person.

Mornings are  my favorite  time to write.

Once  I have a couple of cups of coffee in me, I am good to go.

It dawned on me this morning as I was  sauteing onions after my walk that I am  living the dream….

Part time writer, part time wood worker…

I am a blessed man.

I  have over 500 blog posts, 2 magazine articles, and 2 self published books in print, and yet there is still  a nay-saying voice in my head that mocks me on occasion for wanting to write.

Tough.

I decided last year I would set aside the first three months of  this year to write  and build harvest tables.  The wood I use comes from old barns that are being torn down.

The book  is a combination local history and personal journal.

After spending anywhere between 45 minutes to 2 hours writing, I  take a brisk walk. The goal is to get some cardio exercise in without overdoing it. Currently I am walking one mile, the last 1/2 of my route is up hill, regardless of what’s going on with the weather. There were a few days the last two weeks when it was downright brutal. (windchill was pushing  -20)

After writing,  walking, and  making a hearty breakfast, I will either head to the wood shop or do end of year paperwork for the construction business.

Today, I have an appointment with another wood worker to get a quote on some 5 inch turned table legs.

I got an order yesterday for a harvest table that will look like this when it is finished:

e

Harvest table with antique finish.

___________________

On a related note….

I’m already completely booked for the 2015 building season (which is a first). We do everything from new additions, concrete work, roofing, siding, replacement windows, etc.

If you know anyone who is looking for a job, here is what I am looking for in a new employee:

Prefer someone with no experience.  (Yes you read that right) 🙂

Must be able to read tape measure, have  own transportation,  not afraid to climb.  Will on occasion need to lift a bundle of shingles (they weigh right @ 80 pounds). And most importantly…. great attitude and teachable.

If I am going to spend 8 hours of my day with someone, the last thing I want is a negative  energy sucker.

Spring is right around the corner.

I need to start thinking about pruning our apple trees.

There are only about 100 of them to do…

Want to help? 🙂

________________

PS. My favorite all time book on learning how to write is: If You Want To Write by Brenda Ueland.  Here’s a link: http://www.amazon.com/If-You-Want-Write-Independence/dp/9650060286

5 thoughts on “My life as a writer and woodworker this winter

  1. I’m glad you have found balance in your life and contentment with your work. Many people don’t.

    I admire your writing discipline.
    _________________
    Thank you Bill. and I wish I had your stand of timber where I could cut wood like you 🙂 DM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so tried to talk #1 son into seeking employment with you. He’s such a great kid. Hard worker. Always goes to work despite watching his dear ol’ mom call out regularly for no good reason? Anyway, he did think about it, but since he doesn’t know anyone in Iowa and doesn’t know where he’d stay, he declined. I’m still praying for him to make a good Christian friend who will love on him like Jesus. God has a plan eh? 🙂

    And now that you spoke about frying up the onions, I could sure go for one of your little egg nest thingies.

    Oh and did you catch the new season of Downton Abby? Say hello to the Mrs from me. 🙂
    ___________________________
    Love it..my little egg nest thingies…. 🙂 We just started watching season #4 on Downton Abby…./took a break and just now getting back in the groove. DM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a couple of questions for you…what do you ‘say’ to the negativity you encounter within yourself (in other words, how do you defeat it?)

    And what would you change in your life, if you could?
    _________________________
    those are two great questions…let me give it some thought to tomorrow and post a reply. thanks for asking. DM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

