Young bitches

growling dog

I joined a local Facebook garage sale website yesterday.

On the home page it stated :

“This is a helpful venue to connect with others to buy, sale, give away, or find items and services, barter with others for goods and services… This site is open to everyone, and offers a drama-free place to conduct your business without having admins constantly police your posts, delete posts over arbitrary rules, harass you, etc. Please feel free to post what you need to, when you want to. The only real rules are to simply use common sense and common courtesy when posting and/or interacting with others and to keep the group free of personal drama and pettiness.”

I decided to list 2 metal clothes racks for $20 a piece. Daughter #3 had originally bought them a few years ago for around $35.

I got two nibbles within 20 minutes, came back a couple of hours later to check on the listing.

There were 7 or 8 additional comments.

Sweet!

Then I started reading the comments.

Brittany accused me of having a lot of nerve.. said I was a scammer.  Said  those coat racks could be bought new for $15 to $20 at Walmart.

(I had no idea who Brittany was)

Then a local girl I do know (vaguely) named Ann,  made the comment..“Why leave such a mean nasty comment?  If someone was interested,  why not just keep her nasty comments to herself.”

Brittany replied “I am entitled to my opinions and I am a “bigger person” for speaking up.”

Sara (another person I do not know) commented:“Because people need to be protected!”

Sara (then posted a link to a Walmart ad listing metal clothes racks for sale for $15.

Loretta, chimed in a few minutes later with “WOW~!!!

All of this was going on while I was installing a new shelf for my wife in the laundry room.

Pause.

I had several thoughts go through my head.

Delete the post.

I was not a “scammer!”

Words like “bitch” flittered through my mind.

There I was in a public forum, my reputation was starting to take a hit.  Compared to the stuff going on in the Middle East, this sort of thing should not have bothered me, but it did.

It was a test.

Then I got a private message from one of the first people who had expressed an interest in my listing.. she was still interested, in spite of the drama. 😉

In the end, I pulled the ad without responding to the snark.

I did send Ann a thank you note for sticking up for me.

Here is a portion of her reply:


“You are very welcome.
I don’t know you guys well, but I know you’re not “scammers”.
I so badly wanted to just keep going and keep commenting and try to put them in their place, but I knew I would be no better than them.
I even went online and I found racks nearly identical at Target and Bed, Bath and Beyond, and Lowe’s for up to $40 or more.
I wanted so badly to post links and tell them that they didn’t know where they came from, not everyone shops exclusively at Wal-Mart. 
Oh, I was so frustrated, but in the end I thought it best to just let it go, as hard as it was.
I really think people like this thrive on drama. I just don’t understand.
Just know there are that many more people out there that KNOW that’s not how you are Have a great day, and stay warm!”

I copied Ann’s note and put it on our  frig.

 

4 thoughts on “Young bitches

  1. There are many reasons I avoid Facebook and etc. like the plague. Your post just added another reason to the list — all that drama!
    ________________________
    I haven’t gotten to that point yet but I know what you mean. 🙂 There has been several times when I have had to walk away from a news article comment section. I have never ever gotten into a debate on line with anyone,and don’t intend to. It is hard enough working through a conflict with someone when I am sitting across the table from them. DM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a lot of good stuff on the internet. Comments are mostly not part of them. I just deleted a comment from my uncle because he says things that are completely unnecessary, irrelevant to the thing I’ve posted, sometimes racist, sometimes completely misogynistic. I’d like to figure out how to stop people from commenting on a lot of things I post on Facebook.
    _________________________
    I think I know of which uncle you refer….does he drive semi? DM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your handling of that situation was perfect – delete and move on. How nice of that one person to stick up for you, though! MJ
    ________________________
    thanks MJ. I actually deleted my account from that group. too much snark. DM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

