Peace and Quiet

Cell phone rang while I was making supper last night.  Didn’t have the number in my phone  so I didn’t answer. 😉

(Standard policy)

30 seconds later,  truck pulled into the driveway I didn’t recognize.

Turned out to be some guy named Al whom my son has been working for.  Al purchased a barn beam mantle from me last week, to be picked up at a later date.

30 seconds after Al stepped out of his truck he said,“Boy is it quiet around here.  I like it!”

He is not the first person who has said that to me.

Some people like the peace and quiet.  Drives other people batty.

I have a theory  about peace and quiet.  It’s just a theory mind you.

When a person’s inner world is full of pain (Inner world defined as  thought life, emotional well-being, past life experiences,, purpose in life, existential stuff), then quiet is the last thing they crave.  They crave noise and business to keep themselves distracted, so as not to be alone with themselves.

When the inner world starts to become healthy, you start to crave quiet.  Sort of like going from  diet coke to clean water.  At first, the water feels boring, and lacking, until your taste bugs get retrained. Gradually,  the water  (which is much more healthy for you) feels “right” and the sweetness of the coke becomes obnoxious.

Pause.

At this point, I like both. (Quiet and background music)

I’m currently reading “ Windows of the Soul , highlighting sentences as I go.  Do you ever do that?

Here’s a couple of highlighted portions from this week:

“The problem  is not entirely in finding room the room of one’s own, the time alone, difficult and necessary as that is.  The problem is more how to still the soul in the midst of its activities.”

Anne Morrow Lindbergh  Gift from the Sea

____

“In the past I would have more or less identified with Mary. (Of Mary and Martha fame Luke 10:38-42)  But over the years, as I have had the opportunity to look deeper into my life, the more I see of Martha.  The truth, I think, is that there is something of both sisters in all of us.  And that is why so many of us so much of the time find ourselves in the middle of an inner tug-of-war, pulled by our duties and another by our devotion.

  …  The issue wasn’t her preparations ; it was her distractions.  It wasn’t the many things; it was that the many things didn’t revolve around the one thing that was needed.

      There was not quiet center that Martha was working from, no solitude of the heart, no still axis around which her activities revolved.  That’s why the wheels fell off her attitude.  And that’s why with some regularity, they fall off of mine.”

_____
Bam

No quiet center she was working from….

Bam

No still axis….

That was me, many moons ago.

Someone compared me to a gushing fire hose.  Lots and lots of energy and activity spraying all over the place…with very little to show for it.

I can spot people like my former self pretty quickly. They really can’t help themselves.  Well they can, but until they get burnt out or to the end of themselves, someone telling them to  slow down, simply do not register.

Here’s a picture I had hanging in front of my desk during that season of my life when I was trying to switch gears and slow down:
running on the hampster wheel

 

Well, time for  morning coffee.

Any thoughts about cultivating peace and quiet in the nooks and crannies of our souls?

 

4 thoughts on “Peace and Quiet

  1. One of my favorite quotes, “Wherever you go, there you are.” – Buckaroo Banzai

    Wearing earplugs in a quiet place forces you to hear your own heartbeat and breathing, It is always there, we just rarely take the time to listen. Literally and figuratively.
    ___________________________________
    Great quote. Seems like I’ve heard John Maxwell (one of my favorite motivational speakers say the same thing) Thanks for stopping by! DM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Of course, best of all is when duty becomes devotion. There is a time for attentive devotion, of course, just as there will be times to attend to drudgery. But when work becomes prayer, a lot of voices get stilled.

    As for peace and quiet, I’m a fan. When I do a cost-benefit analysis of getting rid of the tv, for example, the benefits far outweigh the costs. Now and then I’ll watch something on the computer, but I’m selective now. It’s not just running in the background, raising my blood pressure.And, since, I can watch when I want, I’m scheduling a program into my life from time to time, rather than working my life around the tv schedule.

    Music’s my big love, but not when I’m writing. That’s when I really want quiet. None of this go-to-Starbucks and hack out the Great American Novel for me. I’m the Greta Garbo of writers: I want to be alone.
    ____________________________
    Your comments totally resonate w/ me here…we too have ditched the TV and watch things on the computer on our schedule 😉 Also love the peaceful time to write..for me it’s first thing in the morning. Thanks for stopping by Linda, I mean Greta 😉 DM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like peace and quiet. I don’t like peace and quiet. It’s the tug of war. On my way home from Pennsylvania today. I will like peace and quiet for a minute this weekend. 😉
    ____________________________
    Yep, that is a great way to put it. DM

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like peace and quiet. In this house, that means early morning, or mid-morning, after the first shift (kids and workers) head off to work/school. Or middle of the night. Back when I did more US car traveling, that’s what I remember about the desert/southwest…just how incredible it was to step out of a car in the “middle of nowhere” and the incredible peace and silence of the wide expanses, baking in the sun…something so powerful about that. I can still imagine myself standing there in the middle of all that dusty brown and low-growing gray-green and just how– that is the exact word– CENTERED I felt.
    Re the TV…I have been moaning and groaning about having a TV…a family member has some medical issues, is getting older, and is now essentially retired. So she has been spending all of her afternoons and evenings watching hours of TV in my living room (she neither has a living room of her own, nor a TV of her own– she gave hers away during a strange phase she went through…and she is older than me and has no real public space of her own, so I have not felt right telling her to stop/go away).
    But there were days I HATED that TV. Or her (and she is as inoffensive as they come). It was just all that noise! And a lot of it not all that uplifting or useful. Some of it was really not great for my kids (or me, truthfully!)
    Well, the TV broke about 3 weeks ago. I talked about fixing it for a while…until I realized just how much I was enjoying it being broken. Hahaha! Good thing no one else has the wherewithal to actually take the huge thing in to the tech to have it fixed. Sometimes God or serendipity gets you where you need to go by the back way 😉
    Love the peace and quiet.
    _____________
    No way would I get that TV fixed 🙂 Good to hear from you Lisa.DM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

